If some of your files aren't showing up in your backup, there are a few common reasons why. Review the list below to find the cause and how to resolve it:
- Ultimate Backup automatically skips any files that were previously backed up, and any files that were restored to your iPhone or iPad from an Ultimate Backup drive. This ensures that files don't get backed up more than once. If you would like to save these files again, or to simply see which files were already backed up
, you can use the Select Files for Backup feature.
- Where Ultimate Backup looks and what it looks for can also play a role here. Open the Backup Options menu to make sure the switches are enabled for everything you'd like to backup, and if the photos/videos are in a different app, they will need to be saved to your Photos app before Ultimate Backup can access them. See one of these articles for more info:
→ Backing up files from Google Photos
→ Backing up files from text messages
→ Backing up files from other apps
- Ultimate Backup requires you to grant full access to your Photos Library in order for our app to find all available photos and videos. This is a one-time permission, and once the app has access, you can adjust the Backup Options as you see fit.
- The files may be stored in a Shared or Hidden Album. To include files in a Shared Album, open the Ultimate Backup app, tap Settings, tap Advanced Options, and enable Backup Shared Albums. For help with Hidden Albums, check out this video.
If none of the steps above resolved your issue, restart your phone, and wait about 10 minutes before starting another backup. A simple restart forces your phone to rescan for new files, while waiting gives your phone enough time to complete the rescan.
**If you need any additional assistance, please contact Ultimate Backup support.