When using the Ultimate Backup app, you may see a message titled Your iPhone is blocking access to your photos that says:
"Screen Time's Content & Privacy Restrictions or a school or work profile is blocking access."
This message indicates that a setting on your iPhone is restricting access to certain content. You may have previously enabled this setting, or it could be a setting that was enabled by your school or employer (if you use your phone for work or education). Either way, the setting is preventing Ultimate Backup from accessing and backing up your files. Below, we'll go over the two most common locations to check in your iPhone's Settings app to see if this could be the reason your Ultimate Backup is unable to backup your files.
If the message mentions your contacts list instead, the same settings are the cause and the steps below apply. To back up your other files without your contacts for now, tap Disable Contacts backup option in that message.
CONTENT & PRIVACY RESTRICTIONS
- Open the Settings app on your iPhone
- Tap Screen Time
- Scroll down and tap Content & Privacy Restrictions
- Ensure the toggle next to Content & Privacy Restrictions at the top is turned off, as shown below
- If the toggle is on, turn it off to disable restrictions and then tap the back button in the top left corner twice to return to the main Settings screen
- For the change to take effect, you must restart your iPhone or uninstall/reinstall the Ultimate Backup app
DEVICE MANAGEMENT
- Open the Settings app on your iPhone (or, if you're still there from the previous steps, just make sure you're back at the main Settings screen
- Tap General
- Scroll down to the bottom and tap VPN & Device Management
- Ensure there's a button that says "Sign In to Work or School Account..." as shown below
- If device management is set up through a school or employer, please contact your school or employer for more information about device management
After ensuring restrictions are disabled, and no device management is installed, delete the Ultimate Backup app and reinstall it from the App Store. Perform the app setup process and then try backing up again.
If you need any additional assistance, please contact Ultimate Backup support.